Sit down…you’re rocking the boat

  
This ferry took me from Fuerteventura to Lanzarote on my recent holiday. Now, avid readers are aware, I am prone to bouts of anxiety and in some cases, sheer terror. This trip fell into the sheer terror category.

I was looking forward to my excursion on the beautiful island of Lanzarote. I arrived at the port, expecting a streamlined ocean liner to make the trip. Instead, we got this glass bottomed thing. By the end of the outward journey, the boat wasn’t the only thing with a glass bottom…..

It was a fine, but slightly breezy day. The boat was full, and I sat at the front. Wrong move. Away we went, and the next 40 minutes can only be described as adventurous, to say the least. The boat crashed up and down the waves, causing several people to take a sharp inward breath. 

Me? I was holding on the table in front of me for dear life. The horizon was up and down, and I thought it was time to meet my maker. A German family sitting opposite me made me feel even better; the mother of the two kids told me that if I was going to be sick, then don’t be sick over her. Well, despite some very queasy feelings, I managed to hold my breakfast down, just.

One of the crew then decided to come and take a picture! A picture! Of me looking like death warmed up? I waved her away and couldn’t believe she was enjoying the journey, bouncing over the waves like a trampoline.

 I weren’t the worst feeling by any means. A young lad was very frightened, and very ill, so much so that he did release the contents of his breakfast. I did feel for him though. Hated every minute of the 45 minute journey. 

On the way back, it was time to do something a little different. The boat was full, and so I decided to sit on the floor, by the bar and fix my gaze on the wooden panel of the bar. It worked! No queasiness, no fear, no terror. The journey back wasn’t so bad, mainly because we were going with the tide, not against it. 

As the boat was coming into harbour, I decided to get up. The boat came to a stand as it was waiting for a spare berth. The horizon was up and down again, as well as my lunch. So I decided to sit back on the floor and wait till the wretched thing docked. 

Cars – no problem, buses no problem, trains no problem, planes I can just about tolerate, but after a fashion, and boats, well that was an experience I shall always remember. Terrifying and exhilarating. Why do I put myself through these situations? I must be masochistic, somewhere down the line. Or just plain daft….

Allen Brooks

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

