It’s nice out today…but

I’ve stayed in. Yes, that’s right, I’ve stayed indoors.

The weather is lovely out there, warm mellow sunshine, blue sky. That’s outside. On the inside….it’s grey, raining, dull. That’s my world today. I tried to force myself to get ready and go out and enjoy the spring warmth, but my mind wasn’t playing ball today. Every time I wanted to make the effort, the mind said “No, you’re staying in. Bad luck”.

And I gave in to that voice. The voice that spreads negativity. The voice that says no. The voice that says, despite the nice day, you’re not going anywhere. 

To be honest, I’ve felt rather sullen and uninterested all day. I’ve had the odd day like that recently. Alone with negativity. Not going out and being at one with the pleasantness. It’s not always like it of course, other days I feel ok. But there is something wrong when there’s polar opposites of weather and mood. They should be the same, but they’re not today.

Ah well. There’s always tomorrow.

Allen Brooks

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

