The Long Good Friday…

Before you think I’ve gone fast forward to Easter in a few weeks, you’d be wrong. Friday today has been long and good!

Well it’s St. Patrick’s Day today, and I was up for having a very good day. It started off with meeting two former workmates for coffee and a natter, then back to my mate’s house to watch the last afternoon’s horse racing from Cheltenham.

To my surprise and delight, I managed to beat my mate at the sixth attempt at tipping winners during Cheltenham week. What’s more, I managed to pick up a nice tidy sum of money as well, as I backed a couple of winners today. In between, I took him on at darts; I’m very out of practice, but look forward to having a few games of arrows against him soon.

It was great fun, absolutely loved the thrill of winning, something which doesn’t happen all that often to me, but when it does, I enjoy it for all its worth. 

Then I met up with my peer support colleague for a few drinks and sampling a very convivial atmosphere at our regular pub. Loads of people in there, enjoying the St Patrick’s Day festivities in a relaxed way. I’m now tucked up in bed, ready for the weekend. A long, good Friday in every way, and makes me very grateful for the friends I do have. They are a complete joy to be around.

Night all

Allen Brooks

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

