Lucky charms?

 
We are all superstitious, whether consciously or subconsciously. These are my lucky charms. Magpies. I don’t know how or why this superstition started. Magpies are not the nicest creatures around, in fact, they attack other birds and have a liking for shiny objects. I can assure you that I do not have those traits.

Maybe my lucky charms have something to do with the poem that people recite:-

One for sorrow

Two for joy 

Three for a girl

Four for a boy

Five for silver

Six for gold

Seven for a secret

Never to be told

Eight for a wish

Nine for a kiss

Ten for a bird

You must not miss

I only ever see magpies in the local area, either on their own or in pairs. If I see one, it won’t be a good day, if I see two together, the day will be lucky and life doesn’t seem too bad. If I see 140 magpies, then goodness knows what sort of day I’ll have. 

It’s silly I know, but people have their lucky charms, like a black cat, four leafed clover, rabbit’s foot, horseshoe etc. Magpies are my lucky charms…I don’t have any others so why not? Seems to work!

Peace and love 

Allen Brooks


Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

