Just dropping by…

And saying hello folks. Allen Brooks dropping by to give a little potted summary of what’s been happening.

On Friday, I helped perform a presentation on mental health to a group of carers who look after loved ones who are ill, whether physically or mentally or both. What I discovered is that there is a lot of frustration within the room that the government of the day does very little to help those in most need. Don’t get me started on government waste, whether local or national, on things that don’t need millions of pounds poured into it. What about health and social care? What about looking after those who served the country well in whatever guise? 

Me and my colleague didn’t have the answers, nor did the audience expect us to. Looking after an ill relative is one of the most arduous and onerous things anyone can do. Who looks after the carers? What about their free time? So many questions, so few answers.

So that went pretty well. It was good to be back doing presentations again. I felt confident and assured. Which leads me onto cricket, not for the first time.

Two games, no problems bar one player showing a bit of dissent or disagreement with one of my decisions. However, I’m in such a good place at the moment, that this slight problem didn’t affect me at all. I was in no doubt at the decision or the validity of it. I didn’t believe I made a mistake. That’s not being arrogant or conceited, its the truth. Whereas I may have over reacted in the past, I concentrated on the rest of the game and the experience I’ve garnered over the years came into play. Bloody hell, I’ve been doing umpiring long enough to take slight problems in my stride. 

What I will say though is that the behaviour and attitude from players I’ve encountered this year have been absolutely first rate. And I have such a lot of contacts within cricket that I’m currently being asked by several clubs to umpire their matches. Hard to believe that in previous years, hardly anybody wanted to know, and rightly so. Even I was fast losing interest. 

Today, I’ve had a morning coffee with two former work colleagues, one of whom is a very good and close mate. We had a good chat about a lot of stuff, of which more in a future post.

For now, see you soon.

Allen Brooks xx

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

