Talking about Autism…

The other day I spoke at some length about my autism diagnosis to a group of college students.

This was something I enjoyed doing. One of the students mentioned that I was “high functioning”, meaning intelligent. I wish that were true all the time! That was very kind of a complete stranger to say that and I was also asked about how any future employer would deal with my autism.

The fact is that any future employer would have to make “reasonable adjustments” to make my working life easier. This is something that employers are empowered to do under the UK Disability Act 2010. Compared to some other employers I have been with, any future employer would have to take into account my “disability” and the occasional outbreak of anxiety and low mood. Now there’s an underlying cause, I can breathe easier if and when I choose to go back to full time work.

So a very fulfilling presentation and the knowledge shown by the students was excellent. It does show that mental health is more in the public domain now and there is more understanding. More needs to be done though to convince the doubters and the naysayers.

Allen Brooks xx

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

