The All Inclusive Pub…

The British pub is part of the way of life in the UK. Sadly, though, some pubs have closed because of social problems, financial problems or just developers see some real estate and want to build properties on the former site.

On the bright side, I’ve discovered a little gem just 40 minutes bus ride away. Tucked away in a corner of North East London, the local that I attend on an infrequent basis stands out as the best pub I’ve been in, ever! 

Why? Because of the atmosphere that is engendered. The superb landlady and her staff welcome everyone, and I mean, everyone. No matter who you are, background, colour, race, creed, everyone is welcome. And everyone knows each other. The friendliness knows no boundaries. 

There’s a series of events that welcomes the community. A very varied range of activities that everyone can partake in. No one eyes you up and down when you walk in, like in most pubs. There’s a cheery greeting from the staff, and a cheery greeting from the regulars. 

Food? Plenty of outside caterers come in and provide excellent fare. I just can’t speak highly enough of this place. I’ve only been going to it for about three months or so, and I feel so welcome there. I just enjoy the relaxed and social atmosphere without worrying there might be problems, not always the case in other pubs you find. 

The fortnightly music bingo is brilliantly hosted and tremendous fun. Raucous, loud and exciting, it packs in the punters who have a chance of winning a good amount of money. I’ve been lucky enough to win a little bit so far, and I hope to win a bit more. 

The themed nights pull in the people too. As I said, the place is a gem and the landlady, staff and regulars are all diamonds in that gem. 5 miles away, but I class it as a “local”. Simply the best, better than all the rest!

Allen Brooks xx

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

