Sick to my stomach….

I’m sitting in a local cafe, trying to eat some breakfast before the day ahead. The world out there is once more, an evil and despicable one.

My stomach is turning over with shame, with horror, with revulsion. Why? Because someone with no regard for others decided to blow up the Manchester Arena last night, killing 22 and injuring at least 60. Why? Why? Why? 

We shall never know. The attacker was a suicide bomber. He has now joined the list of the deceased. And all for what? To spread fear, to divide and rule, to stop us enjoying what we enjoy doing. It is supposedly a free world out there. There are those who destroy that freedom. 

I’ll give you a list of atrocities on the British mainland; Hitler’s bombs, The IRA attacks, 7/7, Westminster this year and now Manchester. The one thing that links all these? The ability of the British to carry on, to fight those who wish to destroy the way of life, to be stronger together.

Yesterday, I met the people of tomorrow who were a joy. I believed that all was right in the world again. How wrong I was. An act last night of such unspeakable wickedness and depravity that words are beginning to fail me. I think I will leave this blog post where it is. I have to go to do a bit of work now. I shall carry on, but it’s difficult.

Allen Brooks

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

