Out with the washing….

Seven years ago, almost to the day, my life was turned upside down in the most spectacular way. I won’t go into the reasons why, except to say that I ended up living in my late mother’s old house, as a “legal” trespasser. I had walked out on my marriage, my mother then passed away, and I was left with virtually no money and the self esteem, which has always been low, was now through the floor.

The washing machine in the old house had broken, and I had no money to get it fixed. I had a pile of washing to do. There was a local laundrette that I went to. It was a hot day, and I was flagging. There was a huge amount of washing, and I managed to get it done. But the thoughts going my head were these “Why? Why has this happened? Why have I allowed myself to hit rock bottom? Why am I here, alone and afraid, watching my washing going round?” So many questions, and ones I didn’t have the answer to.

A few weeks later, I found myself in the doctor’s surgery, literally bawling my eyes out. That is a story for another day. The day I walked to that laundrette, weighed down with clothes and the events of the previous few weeks, was the day I was out with the washing.  More on that terrible period of my life to follow in future posts.

Allen Brooks xx

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

