Back at the pub…followed by bus lunacy….

Life is never dull around my local area. I haven’t been to the pub for a few weeks, so with my work colleague, we wandered along for a few libations on a very nice summer’s evening.

With nothing on at the pub yesterday in terms of events, it was fairly quiet. Had my drinks, some chat and some laughs, and then it was time to go home. Then the fireworks really kicked into gear.

I don’t know why people have to be so confrontational and aggressive. I just can’t see the point. I got on my bus home and it stopped halfway down the road. On got this bloke who clearly had no intention of paying, and who clearly had not an ounce of reason in him. He refused to get off the bus. 

The driver in turn, radioed ahead for the police, while losing his temper in doing so. The bus wasn’t moving, and just for good measure, a rather mouthy woman stuck up for the intransigent passenger with a volley of invective that would have done a fish wife or a docker proud. Brilliant. I’d had a few drinks and wanting to get home, now because of these three halfwits (cleaned that up), I decided to get on the bus behind.

That was all fine, until a woman got on with her teenage son and proceeded to have an argument. The woman sat directly behind me and had a voice that would have scared the local werewolf population, if we had one. I was so relieved when my destination came into view and I changed onto a bus that was more civilised and quieter.

What is it with people? This is the society we live in, constantly goading and having a go at each other. I hate confrontation and aggression. I take the view of being nice to people and getting the same level of manners back. Not difficult you would think. For the five people last night, impossible. Either they’re just plain rude and disrespectful or maybe the heat had got to them. I just wanted to go home. 

The joys of living in London….

Allen Brooks xx

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

