X marks the spot…

  
Thursday 8th June. London. All across the UK today, the public will be going to the polls to vote in the 2017 General Election. Luckily, my polling station is about 200 yards from my front door, so I’ve done mine already.

Everybody has the right to an opinion, I’m not going to propagate my political views on here. This isn’t the forum, and from past experience, not a good idea. Like everyone else, I stick up for what I believe in and when you go into that polling booth, writing with that dishevelled old pencil, those beliefs form your voting intention. Democracy in action. 

Some people of course, don’t bother to vote. People think it’s a waste of time, all the politicians say the same thing, lie and promise the earth. To an extent, that is probably true. But if you want to make things better, then using something that our predecessors fought for in two world wars will make a difference, however slight. 

I think it was a morning of putting a piece of paper in a box. I had to reorder my anti depressant medication, and did the same thing I did 30 minutes before. Wasn’t voting for my doctor, that’s for sure! 

Off to the weekly Peer Support group now. Haven’t attended much recently due to tiredness, but ready for a long day ahead. 

Make sure you get out there and vote! 

Allen Brooks xx

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

