No visit to the doctors….

I alluded to the fact that I was going to go back to the doctors while things haven’t been so good recently.

I actually haven’t paid any visit to the doctors at all. Why? Because experience has told me that sometimes facing the battle head on, on my own, can be of benefit. I used to visit the doctors regularly every time I took a downturn. Now, by just using the tools in the mental health toolkit I’ve built up over the years, I’ve managed to ride out the latest storm and be ok again.

What’s the doctor going to do? Either discuss changes to my medication or recommend counselling. I don’t want changes to the medication, and I see a CBT counsellor on the occasions when things get difficult, like the other week. I just need to offload onto an independent person and the counsellor, who is frankly magnificent, listens and guides in equal measure. That’s what I need, rather than an increase in medication. 

So that’s why I haven’t gone to the GP. Sometimes experience counts for a lot. Experience that can help me out of crises. That counts more than swallowing more pills. I’m ok, but more work needs to be done to make me even stronger. It’s a tough road, make no mistake about that.

Allen Brooks xx

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

1 thought on “No visit to the doctors….”

  1. Your mention of a mental heath toolkit gives me hope. I am working on mine as well, although I am just beginning but I would like to become independent eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

