The Absurdity of Anxiety…

To give you an idea of what it’s like to live with anxiety, take this little ramble through the absurd happenings in my life.

I’ve done two of the most anxiety provoking things ever this year already, getting on a plane and standing up in front of an audience to do a presentation. You cannot get anything more anxious than that, yet I still did them.

So why do I get other anxiety attacks throughout the year? Apart from possible traumatic happenings impacting on my well being, the other things that make me anxious are a mere drop in the ocean. Going to the cricket club, umpiring cricket matches,  going out to see friends, Peer Support group, going to the doctors, yes they all make me incredibly anxious. More so than flying and public speaking. 

If I knew the definitive answer to all this, I would be working in the medical profession, helping others to overcome their own problems. But I can’t help others, as relapses keep harming my progress. It’s a very frustrating life. That’s why I couldn’t hold down a full or part time job at the moment. I can never tell when the next anxiety attack will happen. To have the last three days in a row as plus points is a start. Just have to build on that.

I’ll keep trying.

Allen Brooks xx

Author: allenbrooks44

44 year old adult living with Autism...

Leave a Reply

